Author Topic: Driver interfacing  (Read 4625 times)

Offline AlexK

• Acquaintance
    • View Profile
Driver interfacing
« on: February 11, 2007, 10:53:00 PM »
First of all, a caveat.  I haven't spent any significant time doing MUD programming, although I have played them off and on many years ago.  I have a lot of experience in C, although it is pretty rusty.

I am interesting in building an external "monitor/controller" using the deal souls codebase.  The vision is that you would have a dungeon-master type person who would have a GUI program that would allow them to monitor what is going on in the MUD, as well as be able to step in and take actions, take over NPCs, etc.  I realize these things can be done in the MUD itself, but I think the information can be portrayed much more effectively in a GUI.

The idea I had was just adding some code to the driver to communicate via a socket to a monitoring program (C#).  I need to get into the driver code to see how hard this will be, but any pointers are welcome.  I also need to compile it under Windows.  Is that as simple as using gcc and cygwin?

Any other advice would be greatly appreciated.

Offline saquivor

• BFF
    • View Profile
Re: Driver interfacing
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2007, 02:18:17 PM »
I used msys and mingw to compile on Win32. I actually prefer this method to Cygwin, as setting up Cygwin is a time consuming operation even with broadband net access!

Whilst I have never attempted what you are asking, I am not sure if you could achieve what u wanted by manipulating the LPC code objects, rather than c code that controls the driver.

I did pass on what i know about compiling the mud on Win 32 to Cratylus, not sure if there is a document on how to compile it though. If you compile via cygwin then it will be fairly straight forward.

A tongue in cheek suggestion for you would be to convert the driver to c# so it compiles on Mono and native Windows Frameworks  :) Then you could control everything :)