Author Topic: My Renewed Interest in LPMud stuff  (Read 255 times)

Offline Maeglin

• Acquaintance
    • View Profile
My Renewed Interest in LPMud stuff
« on: November 22, 2017, 12:00:29 AM »
First, a disclaimer: Way back in 1991 when I was in college, I started playing RealmsMUD. Soon after, I became a wiz, made an area, quickly shot up to "god", rewrote the core lib, graduated and found other pursuits. By about 20 years ago, I vanished from the scene. I've been a software engineer/architect for the last 22 years... I say this because:

In 2011, the mud was finally about to die. I came back on the scene and set it up to run on one of my servers. I decided that it'd be a fun project to modernize it (after all, too much of the lib was that horrible stuff I wrote before I knew what "responsible development" meant.) A bunch of the other wizards volunteered to help but never did. I wasn't surprised when everything failed, though I was a bit disappointed - I decided to not waste my time continuing to work on Realms.

In 2014, I began working on a Unity3D-based game based in a world I'd created. I spent the next couple years doing a small amount of development whilst herding voice actors and artists. Over the course of the next three years, I got a large portion of the roughly 800,000 lines of dialog I'd written acted out. I also decided to pay some artists for some amazing 3D assets. The easier parts of the game were done and "the world" was largely peopled. I'd resisted the urge to make it have any type of online presence but then at the beginning of this year, I decided to go ahead and do that.

But how?