Author Topic: All commands are Queued!  (Read 4684 times)

Offline Therion

• Acquaintance
    • View Profile
All commands are Queued!
« on: August 09, 2009, 11:12:57 AM »
Right! I'm new at this. I may sound like an idiot. You Have Been Warned.

I'm using the Windows version of the Discworld mudlib available on this site, on a machine running Windows XP.

I got the mudlib installed (I believe) properly according to the directions in c:\dw\INSTALL-windows.txt.

The mud.bat file runs, and I can connect to my test MUD (via MUSHclient, Drakkos told me that I could connect via a MUD client) with no apparent problems.

I can even create a new character, who is (as far as I can tell) a Trustee, and a guest character, who is (as far as I can tell) Notte A Trustee.

The problem is that whenever I use my Trustee to issue any input to the MUD- from commands like "save" or "update file\path\here to nonsense like "wharrgarbl"- the command is queued, and never executes (as far as I can see).

Oddly, I can use my Notte a Trustee character to issue commands- I receive messages like "You are in limbo, noone can hear you," but the command DOES work.

What is the proper syntax to use under Windows? I believe the problem to be (at least partially) that I am trying to use the UNIX commands in Drakkos' manuals, which are apparently and unsurprisingly incompatible with the Windows version.

Specifically, I would like to know the commands to save a character, and to update a file to the test MUD. I may be able to work out at least some things out on my own from there.

Thanks!
-Therion

Offline Therion

• Acquaintance
    • View Profile
Re: All commands are Queued!
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2009, 11:44:56 AM »
I was unable to find an edit button, sorry for double posting.

It would appear that commands queue endlessly as described on BOTH Trustee and Normal characters, but not Guest characters.